About our rice varieties


Named the "Shining Princess", Tsuyahime grains are lustrous and beautifully cooked, and you can taste the sweetness with your first bite.  Over 10 years in development, a pleasant aroma and gorgeous finish are what makes Tsuyahime the flagship of Yamagata rice.

Tsuyahime from Yamagata is produced under a certification system, with four strict standards of production: "Suitable for Cultivation", "Certified Producer", "Special Cultivation" and "Quality Standard". The Yamagata Prefecture Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries only certifies a limited number of farms, as well as capping how many fields can be in production each year. Only farms that meet all four certification standards are permitted to grow Tsuyahime. Tsuyahime has been accredited with a "Special A" ranking.

Sanei Farm Certified Producer Certificate for Tsuyahime





Yukiwakamaru has a unique firm and grainy texture. The grains are full, with a pleasant chewy texture, and an elegant and condensed flavor.

Like Tsuyahime, Yukiwakamaru is a special rice that can only be grown by farmers certified by Yamagata Prefecture. Since debuting as the “younger brother” of Tsuyahime in 2018, this variety has been accredited with a "Special A" ranking for the fourth consecutive year. Some of Japan's finest resort hotels and Michelin-ranked dining establishments exclusively use Yamagata-grown Yukiwakamaru rice.

Sanei Farm Certified Producer Certificate for Yukiwakamaru




Haenuki  has a firm texture with good aroma and a unique sweetness. Haenuki is great for daily cooking and retains its flavors and texture, even when cooled. An excellent all-around rice for any dish.

Originally born in 1990 as "Yamagata No. 45", Haenuki is a successor to the Sasanishiki variety. Haenuki was developed specifically for the climate and soil of the Shonai plain in Yamagata prefecture, which imparts unique characteristics to the rice not found anywhere else in Japan.



"Specially Cultivated Rice"

“Specially cultivated rice” refers to rice cultivated in accordance with the "Guidelines for Specially Cultivated Agricultural Products" of the Japan Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries. Unlike general cultivation methods, the use of chemically synthesized pesticides is reduced by 50% or more, and the nitrogen content of chemical fertilizer used has been cut by 50% or more.



"Special A"

"Special A" is the highest ranking obtainable from the Japan Grain Inspection Association.

The rice taste ranking is based on the taste sensory test, which evaluates the taste of cooked white rice, and has been conducted every year since 1971 for nationwide varieties of rice.

The rank of the taste test is based on the blended rice of Koshihikari from multiple production areas, and when comparing this with the varieties of the production areas to be tested, the ones that are roughly equivalent are "A'", and the ones that are particularly better than the standard rice are "Special A". , Good ones are evaluated as "A", slightly inferior ones as "B", and inferior ones as "B'", and the results are summarized and announced as a taste ranking every year.



.hero__overlay::before { background-color: transparent; }